Video Gaming with a Disability

Throwback to 2015 when SpecialEffect put this awesome gaming setup together for me!

I used to play video games all the time when I was younger and although my disability is non-progressive, I wasn’t able to play them using a console since the age of 12. That’s when I had scoliosis correction surgery which caused me to lose a lot of movement throughout my body. This was the end of my video gaming days, or so I thought…

One day, I came across a post on Facebook about SpecialEffect, a “UK-based charity which uses video games and technology to level the playing field for people with disabilities.” After reading the post, I pushed it aside in my mind for a few months. I kept thinking “I’ve gone this long without playing a console, do I need to play one now?” and the more I thought about this, the more the answer was leaning more towards “yes.” What tipped it over into a big, massive “YES” was when I visited my sister and her family and my nephew was playing Assassin’s Creed: Unity on his Xbox One in the living room. I knew from that moment that I needed to play video games!

The very next day, I emailed SpecialEffect to see if they could help in getting me to play the Xbox One. I promptly received a reply from a lady named Frankie. She requested I send her a video of me demonstrating how much movement I have in my arms and hands (which I don’t have anymore – the video, I mean, not my arms and hands). After Frankie had watched my video, we arranged a date for her and a colleague to come to my house with a van full of equipment for me to try.

The day was finally here! Frankie and Gillian arrived with a lot of fancy equipment and technology. It was very exciting! After a few hours of trial and error, I was playing Assassin’s Creed: Unity – like a complete noob. But I didn’t care. I loved that I could do it.

Initially, all of the various equipment was attached to my wheelchair. Xbox One controller was mounted to my left footplate and switches (to act as the buttons on the controller) were fastened to my right armrest with Velcro. It worked fine, but over time I realised that once it was all attached to my wheelchair, I was then tethered and unable to move.

I came up with the idea of mounting and attaching everything to a small height-adjustable table. The table is kept in the corner of my room when it’s not in use and someone moves it out in front of my TV when I want to play. Much easier!

When I first received help from SpecialEffect, they had a loan period of two months. They would leave the equipment with you to make sure it worked. Within the two months, if there were any problems, you could contact them and they would come to make changes for you. At the end of the two months, they would email you the links to the exact equipment so that you could buy your own. I do believe they have since changed the way they do this. They now have a permanent loan system where you can keep the equipment for as long as you’re using it.

A few bits have been changed or added to my setup since my first meeting with SpecialEffect. For a few years now my setup has been as follows:
– Xbox 360 wired controller next to my left hand to use the left stick
– Xbox One wireless controller in front of my face to use the right stick and D-pad with my chin
– Switches attached to the table with Velcro to use with my right hand

All of this is linked together using a switch box and an XIM adapter. It then all plugs into the Xbox via USB. It’s very clever!

I have since upgraded to the Xbox Series S and my setup still works just fine. I contacted Frankie again before buying the Series S and she informed me that it should work as it is. The staff at SpecialEffect are always there for ongoing support.

SpecialEffect is an amazing charity. They go above and beyond and can never do enough to help. If you have a disability, are based in the UK and are thinking about getting into (or back into) video gaming then I highly recommend that you contact them.

On Friday 7 October 2022, SpecialEffect is having an event called One Special Day, which is where YOUR purchases of selected games from their industry partners will help them bring magic gaming moments to people of all ages who would otherwise have to watch everyone else have all the fun.

If you have any questions, please don’t hesitate to ask!

One thought on “Video Gaming with a Disability

Add yours

Leave a comment

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑