Book Review: My Mother’s Eyes

Title: My Mother’s Eyes
Author: Jeremy Ray
Format: Ebook
Publication Year: 2021
Length: 39 pages
Stars: 5/5

Firstly, thank you so much to Jeremy Ray for giving me a free copy of his ebook in exchange for this honest review.

Jordie’s mum is in a coma in the hospital. She no longer looks like the mum he remembers from before. Jordie thinks that if he can draw her exactly as she was, that she will make her way back to her family and wake up. The only problem is that his mum kept no photos of herself and he can’t remember what her eyes looked like, and of course, in her comatose state her eyes are permanently closed. Will Jordie manage to draw his mum’s eyes? Or is she gone forever?

This was really emotional. You could literally feel the anger and frustration that Jordie felt. Towards his mum for being in a coma, towards himself for not being able to remember what his own mum’s eyes looked like, and towards his brother for not approving of the drawings he’s created of their mother. It’s a story of a teenager trying to understand grief, trying to come to terms with what has happened, and who is preparing to say goodbye to the person he loves most. Jordie is understandably very upset, and it really comes across in the writing. Jeremy (the author) is able to describe all of the different emotions in such a way that you are able to feel them all for yourself.

I really enjoyed this. I think it’s rare when a writer can make you really feel something. I read a lot, and a lot of the time I will think that a story is good but it hasn’t really made me feel much. And then every so often there will be one that gives me all of the feels, and this is one of them.

I give this 5 out of 5 stars and would recommend it to anyone who likes short stories, and fiction stories about grief, love and loss.

Let me know in the comments if you have read this and what you thought of it!

6 thoughts on “Book Review: My Mother’s Eyes

Add yours

Leave a comment

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑